ISO 45001:2018 Anniversary

So it’s one year today since the publication of the international standard for occupational health and safety: ISO 45001:2018.  Remember that ISO 45001:2018 will ultimately replace OHSAS 18001:2007 as an accreditable standard for OH&S and organisations have 3-years from publication to fully migrate their certification.  Since the publication of ISO 45001 a range of guidance documents have been published for organisations developing or modifying management systems to become certified, these include:

  • BS 45002-0 Guidance for the implementation of an occupational health and safety management system
  • BS 45002-1 Guidance on occupational health
  • BS 45002-2 Guidance on risk and opportunity
  • BS 45002-3 Guidance on incident investigation

Migration from OHSAS 18001:2007 – for GCL certified clients

To assist our clients with the migration of their OHSAS 18001:2007 certification to the new requirements set out in ISO 45001:2018, we have developed a simple but effective 2-stage approach, as follows:

Stage 1:
When the client organisation has modified their management system to the new requirements set out in ISO 45001:2018, the client organisation should complete and submit our online questionnaire to confirm to us that they have considered all of the mandatory requirements within their management system.  Clients should obtain the link for the online questionnaire from their local office.

Stage 2:
Upon satisfactory completion of Stage 1, GCL will attend an onsite audit to verify the effective implementation of the management system in accordance with ISO 45001:2018.  Following successful completion, the respective OHSAS 18001:2007 certificate will be migrated to ISO 45001:2018.

This whole process must be fully completed by no later than 11th March 2021.